If you’ve decided that you no longer want to use your Gmail account, you can choose to remove your email address from your Google account.
Deleting your Gmail address will delete your emails and all the messages in it but note that it won’t delete your entire Google Account.(and still keep your Google, YouTube, Google+ page, etc. accounts).
Note that once you deleted your Gmail address, you can get it back again. If you deleted it recently, you might be able to recover your old emails.
Delete Your Gmail Account
Step 1: Sign in to your account and head to the My Account. Under the section labeled Account Preferences, click on the option that reads Delete your account or services:
Step 2: Click on Delete products:
Step 3: All of your active Google accounts will be listed here. Click on the Gmail option and then follow the onscreen instructions:
Step 4: Click on Remove Gmail permanently and verify your selection. You will be asked to provide a new primary email address with which to log in to other Google services (i.e. YouTube, Blogger).
Once you’ve confirmed your selection, you will be sent an email from Gmail with the subjectGmail Removal Confirmation. Click on the link to reconfirm your account removal, and then click on Verifyto finalize the removal.
Your Gmail account will be removed from the server with 48 hours.
What happens when you delete your Gmail address
- The messages will be deleted permanently. You can no longer access them in Gmail.
- Your Google Account, including purchases made on Google Play and your search history, won’t be deleted.
- If you downloaded a copy, either using Google Takeout or using an email program, you can still use these messages, of course.
What happens when someone sent to Your Gmail Address?
- People who mail your old Gmail address will receive back a delivery failure message.